Are eggs free from gluten? This is one of the most common questions I have encountered in the last 3.5 years.

The answer is Yes and No!! Yes, you heard right.

Eggs may or may not contain gluten.

Gluten is a protein and it is found in grains – wheat, barley, rye and triticale.

There is no direct scientific evidence that gluten-feed fed hens will pass protein fragments into the eggs. But considering the fact that some people are extremely sensitive to gluten, it is advisable to consume eggs obtained from hens which are fed on non-gluten diet.

A few people who are very sensitive to traces of gluten have reported adverse effects when they obtain/eat eggs from hens which are fed on wheat and barley diet. Hens fed on non-gluten feed produce GF-eggs.

There can be gluten-contamination from cooking vessels and storage places as well. If you are very sensitive to gluten, even traces of gluten can be harmful or fatal. Cooking GF-eggs in a gluten-free place with gluten-free vessels is the best solution.

Have you heard any stories of gluten sensitivity from eggs?

Share →
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers

twitter-widget.com